top of page

top 2021 tunes~

Just as I did last year, I have decided my top tracks, artists and albums for 2021! I was disappointed by my Spotify Wrapped and Youtube Music Year in Review in 2020 ... and sadly, it wasn't accurate for the second year in a row. I wonder if they don't save data when the phone is playing downloaded music? Even so, I will still link the playlist they made for me that contains the "Top Played 100 Songs of 2021." I hope you can enjoy seeing and listening to my favorite music of 2021!


What a year it's been.



This past year, I moved to Korea aaaaaand then back home to the US. I was awarded the Fulbright scholarship and was set to complete 11 months of working as an English teacher in a Korean elementary school. I met so many great people while at Korea University Sejong campus for Fulbright's 6-week orientation and was so excited for my placement at an all-boys high school in Gwangyang-si, Jeollanam-do.



When I moved to Gwangyang, I immediately in love with my area and my students, and even started making new friends and relationships. Everything was like a dream ... until my own version of a Korean drama began. By sheer bad luck, shortly after arriving to my placement, my co-teacher turned on me and made my host city a hellscape. I couldn't understand why things turned so bad so quickly. It created an immense load of stress as well as what felt like my own emotional solitary confinement.


I was at a loss because I theoretically had to endure just under 10 more months more being an inferior to an emotionally manipulative person. It wasn't until other Korean teachers at my school began inviting me to spend time with them and their family did I feel like Gwangyang was a home. And for that, I couldn't be more thankful.



I had so many great memories with my fellow teachers and friends, and am so lucky to have been able to rendezvous over the summer to see more of the country, meet old friends, and even make new! Even a good portion of the photos I took over this time were the ones chosen to be printed in the Fulbright Korea alumni literary magazine, Infusion!




Even though I faced too many hardships, I still had so much fun with my students. They were the true highlight of my day and the only true reason why I endured all that I had. The memories together hanging out in my club class, spending time with the English classroom cleaning boys, talking or playing sports during lunch, practicing in the music room, playing basketball in the evening before night study, and the ever so often sightings around town.... I could cry even now because THEY were so worth it. All the time I had with them, I will forever cherish.



Why am I writing so sappy about them? Well, because right after summer break ended, I started to suffer from a skin condition that ultimately caused me to suddenly lose my contract with my school. Yes, a month into the second semester, I went to Seoul to get a second opinion at a larger hospital due to returning symptoms. Within 24 hours after reporting to my school what the doctor told me, I had a call from my program notifying that my school did not want me to return to the school nor did they want me to even return back to Gwangyang in my current state. My trip to Seoul turned into to a month... mostly in isolation in an Airbnb. When I was finally able to leave, it was for a 24 hour whirlwind of a move-out of my Gwangyang apartment and a final weekend before I ultimately left Korea.



The start, middle and end of my third visit to Korea was full of twists and turns, as a true Korean drama would have... but it was all necessary for my character development. After arriving back to the states, I immediately started job hunting to find my next step and forget about being in the degrading work environment that was my school office.


I was so lucky to have returned prematurely to the states because I was able to secure a great position for an internationally known firm and move in with my university best friend. Right before the New Years, I relocated to this new city and await for my first day of my new career. Things have never felt more promising <3



And, as my story was briefly summed up, feel free to listen to the most cherished music I relied on. Thank you so much for reading and supporting this blog, and am excited to post even more in 2022!


nina's 2021 in a nutshell



I have created a Youtube music playlist to contain all the songs I especially loved listening to. If you've been following my monthly music posts, you should know many already! Some towards the end of the playlist are sadly ones that never found their way into an official playlist, but have been resting comfortably in my liked songs. They range many genres and moods, and I am happy to have an accurate playlist!



top artists of 2021


Wonstein Mac Miller Rich Brian Mokyo Kim Kwang Seok Lee Moon Sae DPR Live Rainbow Kitten Surprise Palace Beenzino Big Naughty punchnello Jannabi Jay Park Kid Milli



top albums of 2021



haven't seen any/all of my monthly music posts?


Click on the links below to see previous monthly music posts!



Or, click on the link below to see last year's top music!



The following statements, thoughts and information presented are my own and do not represent the U.S. Department of State or its Fulbright Program.

DB95E7D7-792F-4373-9ACC-19878DDF57F5-42595-0000228266521933.JPG

thanks for reading!

I'm Nina, the girl who wrote this blog post!

subscribe?

it might be fun ><

  • YouTube
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
bottom of page