top of page

live music in korea + COVID-19

So, I recently watched a YouTube video produced by Vice Asia on the effect COVID-19 has had on South Korea's clubs, specifically the clusters of COVID-19's devastating effect on Itaewon. If you have the time, please do watch the video to become more aware of the situation in Korean Club Culture, music, and Itaewon as a whole.



To me, I hold high importance to live music. The experience is completely different... Being surrounded by fellow supporters, feeling the music all around you and enjoying the artists' live interpretations of their creations all has brought me great joy.


Most of my experience with live music was while abroad in South Korea. I got to experience here and there in the US and oddly enough in Mexico, but they don't compare with how I got to enjoy in Korea. Live music to me includes concerts, music performances on campus, live club/cafe performances and music festivals - most of which I was lucky enough to explore in Seoul.


What I am mostly so, so lucky with is that the timing of my exchange programs. My memories were completely untouched by COVID-19, allowing me to live out my time in Korea without that worry. I had bought tickets for three different music festivals, followed as many of my favorite music artists' Instagram pages and went out to see as many live club performances I could fit into my student schedule.


The clubs that brought me the most memories due to the artist's they hosted was The Henz Club in Hongdae, Seoul, South Korea and Soap in Itaewon, Seoul, South Korea... bringing the suffering club culture in Korea close to home.



It's quite obvious that the clubs in Seoul had to be shut down, just as any enclosed and typically packed businesses have globally to prevent the infection rates stay as low as possible. The people interviewed in the video, however, are quite valid in their concerns with how their businesses are being treated in South Korea. Clubs do have a negative image in this country, and as sad as it is, the government might not be putting in their full effort to support these businesses. The owners are suffering due to the circumstances of first the virus, and then the clustering of cases reported specifically in Itaewon.


What will the government do to help support these businesses during these times? I know there are priorities to keep in mind, and they are most likely trying to support keeping public transportation running safely as well as supporting businesses as a whole. However, the club culture in Seoul most likely *won't* get prioritized and lose out on receiving the support they so desperately need.


I am hoping and praying that I will be able to return to Korea in January of 2021, and I hope that Itaewon and my favorite clubs to support amazing artists will have enough strength to hold on. Music is such an important aspect in many people's lives, and one very important aspect of fully celebrating music is having those live performances chock-filled with supporters. It creates not only a connection of the artist to their fans, but also both parties deeper connection with the music through experience.



PLANT, a vegan restaurant located in Itaewon and featured in the Vice video is also a place I hold dear in my heart. One of my best friends is a consistent returning customer, and we made great memories there in November 2019. We spent Chuseok (Korean Thanksgiving) in her host town of Hongcheon, but she reached out to me when American Thanksgiving came around the corner. It was so kind of her to remember me and offer to make lovely memories during the holiday. PLANT was open and had an option to eat a traditional American Thanksgiving dinner and we definitely jumped on the chance to eat pumpkin pie!


Having restaurants like this cater to a foreigner like me was really touching. Not only that, but their whole restaurant concept is so respectable. As stated on their website, "dietary perfection, purity, and restriction are never the goal, but abundance, kindness, equality, and love."


Please check out their website to learn more about PLANT.



To have all of Itaewon hit hard due to COVID-19 and the stigma that came with clusters was really hard to hear while being back in the US. For such a diverse, artsy, and unique neighborhood to take such a big blow is devastating. I'm thankful for Vice Asia to make such a video so that I can share it with friends and family.


There was a release of merchandise known as "Itaewon United" to show the grouping together of multiple establishments in Itaewon to raise funds and awareness of the situation. Upon seeing the series drop, I instantly messaged my friend that lives in Seoul and works in Itaewon to help me out and buy me a shirt! The shirts are also sold on Soap Seoul's online merch store... If you're interested in buying one (it's also featured on one of the men interviewed in the Vice video), click here!


I'm thinking of you Itaewon, and I am wishing the best for all the establishments fighting to stay in business. Please share this post, Vice Asia's video, and the links to help out PLANT, Soap Seoul and Itaewon.

DB95E7D7-792F-4373-9ACC-19878DDF57F5-42595-0000228266521933.JPG

thanks for reading!

I'm Nina, the girl who wrote this blog post!

subscribe?

it might be fun ><

  • YouTube
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
bottom of page