top of page

february 2021 pics (pt. 3)

Welcome to 광양! I have officially finished Fulbright's Orientation and moved to my host city!


Located in Jeollanam-do Province, Gwangyang is a growing industrial city nearby the south sea! Famous for being the host city of POSCO Gwangyang Steel Works, the largest facility of its kind in the world, and for being home to 광양 불고기 (bulgogi - grilled marinated beef) & 닭구이 (grilled marinated chicken), two very delicious meat dishes~


Not only that, but another highlight of this city are the flowering plum trees in the spring, known as 매화 (maehwa). Ironically enough, these beautiful flowers are what inspired the name of my apartment community - 매화주공아파트.


I was lucky to be given the option to live in the spacious two bedroom apartment that my school owned. And with winter nearing its end, the stream located right next to my apartment is completely decked out with flowering trees and roses! Being able to see how the trees start to transition into being budded before my classes started was such a treat.


The last parts of February were spent exploring my neighborhood, meeting with the other 광양 Fulbrighters, and camping out at a family owned cafe / bakery near my home to steal the wifi~ Because of my visits every day, the owner began really taking care of me well <3 I also took a trip out to 여수 to visit my friend Liz in her host city the weekend before our classes officially started!


Enough of my February life updates, enjoy the photos! Also, don't forget to check out my photography Instagram account for more photos!

Bonus Video~!


Just finished a video compiling the final memories made at orientation ><



february 2021's pics part 3:


Fujifilm X-T10: Just some pictures taken at the stream nearby my apartment and my nighttime view~
iPhone 11: The amazing cafe Liz took me to in 여수시 웅천동 as well as my home ^^
Huji: Most of my month told through photos!

~ leaving 조치원~

~ first full day in 광양 ~

~ exploring more of 광양 ~

~ going to 여수 crossing the 7th largest suspension bridge in the world - 이순신대교 ~

~ returning back to 광양 ~

~ POSCO Gwangyang Steel Works, the largest facility in the world of its kind ~


Equipment Used:

Fujifilm X-T10 Camera

Canon FD f/1.8 50mm Lens

Canon FD f/2.8 25mm Lens

Osawa MC f/4.5 80-205mm Macro Lens

Tamron-F Teleconverter 2X C MC4

iPhone 11

Tripod


Photography Instagram:

Any past videos:


The following statements, thoughts and information presented are my own and do not represent the U.S. Department of State or its Fulbright Program.






DB95E7D7-792F-4373-9ACC-19878DDF57F5-42595-0000228266521933.JPG

thanks for reading!

I'm Nina, the girl who wrote this blog post!

subscribe?

it might be fun ><

  • YouTube
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
bottom of page